The Board of Directors of the Edgewood-Colesburg Community School District met for the organizational meeting in the Edgewood Board Room, on Monday, November 27, 2023. Superintendent Dave Hoeger called the meeting to order at 6:04 p.m.

Directors Present: Matt Elliot, Dan Venteicher, & Brad Bockenstedt

Directors elect present: Jeff Hoeger & Tammy Kirby.

Visitors: Alex Hanna, Wyatt Walz, Carston Calderwood, Eden Hemann, Kristy Mather, Bella Perrinjaquet, Royce Henney, Brighton Rouse, Lincoln Hanna, April Schaffer, Quintin Schaffer, & Carmen Uldrich.

Oath of office was given to Directors Elect Hoeger & Kirby.

Election of officers:

Director Venteicher nominated Matt Elliot for president.

Roll Call: Jeff Hoeger voted for Matt Elliot Matt Elliot voted for Matt Elliot Brad Bockenstedt voted for Matt Elliot Tammy Kirby voted for Matt Elliot Dan Venteicher voted for Matt Elliot

Matt Elliot was elected Board President.

Oath of Office was given to President Elliot by Secretary Conner.

Director Venteicher nominated Tammy Kirby for vice president.

Roll Call: Jeff Hoeger voted for Tammy Kirby Matt Elliot voted for Tammy Kirby Brad Bockenstedt voted for Tammy Kirby Tammy Kirby voted for Tammy Kirby Dan Venteicher voted for Tammy Kirby

Tammy Kirby was elected Vice President.

Oath of office was given to Vice President Kirby by Secretary Conner.

Director Venteicher moved to set the meeting dates and times as the second Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the Edgewood Board Room. Director Hoeger seconded the movement. Motion Carried 5-0.

Director Hoeger moved to appoint Melissa Conner as the Board Secretary & Board Treasurer. Director Bockenstedt seconded the movement. Motion Carried 5-0.

Director Kirby moved to approve Ahlers Law Firm for the 2023-2024 Legal Counsel. Director Bockenstedt seconded the movement. Motion carried 5-0.

Director Venteicher moved to approve the use of Signature Stamp for Board President. Director Bockenstedt seconded the movement. Motion carried 5-0.

Principal Briggs: On behalf of the staff & myself, I would like to thank the parents & community for providing meals for the teachers during conferences. We had a great turn out for conferences. In honor of Veterans Day Our Serving Others team organized students to write letters of appreciation to our Veterans in the community.

Principal Voss: Volleyball Team were District Champions, Dana Kopren named district coach of the year. Audrie, Marin, Campbell, & Lillee made all district team. Audrie was selected for the 3rd team all-state. Ed-Co hosted this year's Real-Life Academy. Mr. Calderwood and the students did a nice job with the Fall musical: Baba Yaga and the Black Sunflower. We will be having a Computer Science Day on December 6th for 7-12th Grade students.

Director Kirby: Appreciate the opportunity to attend the School Board Convention. Heard several positive comments on the Veteran's Day Program.

No change orders were presented for the meeting.

Director Venteicher moved to approve the first reading of Board Policies: 401.1, 503.1, 503.1R, 503.2, 605.3R1, 710.1E1, 503.08. Director Kirby seconded the movement. Motion carried 5-0.

Director Hoeger moved to approve the revised Elementary & High School Handbook. Director Bockenstedt seconded the movement. Motion carried 5-0.

Director Venteicher moved to approve 2023-2024 SBRC Application for Increasing Enrollment, Open Enrollment Out and LEP Instruction Beyond Five Years for a total of \$24,915.75. Director Bockenstedt seconded the movement. Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Elliot, Kirby, Bockenstedt, Venteicher, & Hoeger. Nays: None. Motion carried 5-0.

Director Venteicher moved to approve the following 2023-2024 Early Separation Plan for employees 55 or old as of June 30, 2024 with 16 years at Ed-Co:

For certified employees, a one-time payment of \$150 per day for any remaining accrued unused days of sick leave paid into a health reimbursement account (HRA)

For classified employees, a one-time payment of \$50 per day for any remaining accrued unused days of sick leave paid into a health reimbursement account (HRA). Director Kirby seconded the movement. Motion carried 5-0.

Director Bockenstedt moved to approve the resolution to join the Iowa Local Government Risk Pool for FY24 & FY25. Director Venteicher seconded the movement. Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Elliot, Kirby, Bockenstedt, Venteicher, & Hoeger. Nays: None. Motion carried 5-0.

Director Kirby moved to approve the transfer of \$312.94 from the Spanish Club Account to the General Athletics Account. Director Venteicher seconded the movement. Motion carried 5-0.

Director Venteicher moved to approve Jeff Hoeger to the Delaware County Conference Board. Director Kirby seconded the movement. Motion Carried 5-0.

Director Kirby moved to approve the Prom 2024 Venue application for Windmill Hill Barn. Director Bockenstedt seconded the movement. Motion carried 5-0.

The Board discussed the following items:

**IASB** Conference Reflection

Construction/Building Project Updates

With no further business to come before the board for consideration at this time, Director Kirby moved to adjourn the meeting at 6:47 p.m. Director Bockenstedt seconded the movement. Motion Carried 5-0.

\_\_\_\_

Matt Elliot, President

Melissa Conner, Secretary